Arrrrgh! Spilling The Beans!

Its going to be one of those days! Came down to my home office to log on to the internet and then proceeded to knock my coffee over. Typical of many a home office my desk is cluttered with debris and detritus; much of it paper in nature. The aroma of fresh brewed coffee is now a new feature of my home office.

To continue in the vein of this entry’s title, I have been laid off from work. Laid off after 26 years of service. I’m not sad to leave from a company philosophy point of view but it does sting on two fronts.

Firstly the abrupt termination in relations with my fellow workmates is truly like a small death. Lost are the daily interactions and sharing of stories, jokes, and gossip that made the work place feel like an extended family. There was a great bunch of people there and I will truly miss them.

The second stinger is that I was only 5 years away from an unreduced pension. Financially, retirement in 5 years is not an option but it sure would have been nice to have had that piece of financial security topped off and locked down. Ah well, c’est la vie.

Given my years of service and the minimum payout the company must give me I have at the least a 8 month cushion to find a new job. Right now the plan is take care of getting a resume together and taking full advantage of the career counselling services the company has offered. Plus I want to make sure they do pay for those services. This will be done over the remainder of the year and full job search will start in January.

Fortunately in my area of expertise, IT Senior Business Analyst, job possibilities look promising. This even in the face of the current global economic woes.

I am faced at the age of 50 with an opportunity to reinvent myself. Should be fun.

…and the adventure continues…

Posted in Uncategorized. Tags: . 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Arrrrgh! Spilling The Beans!”

  1. lonesome_crow Says:

    Lou, I’m very sorry to hear this. That’s a lot of years of service. I’m glad you are feeling upbeat about it. I’m sure a great opportunity will present itself. Take care of yourself.

    • olddarth Says:

      Hey Mike! Thanks for the well wishes. Yeah, a bummer to be sure, but you have to treat it like an opportunity, no?
      Besides I get a couple of months of paid time off. Its my version of paternity leave!:D

  2. reddherring1955 Says:

    Hi Lou, best of luck in the new job search. Any chance they violated any labor laws by letting you go so close to your pension break-point? There were cases in the US on that some years ago. Alas, I don’t know the result as I’m not into labor law.
    Might be a good time to consult legal counsel?
    Otherwise, all the best to you as you go about re-inventing.
    Been there, done that, bought the T-shirt!


Leave a Reply

