HellBoy2: The Golden Army

Liked it, didn’t love it. These tongue-in-cheek movies frustrate me. Why go to all that effort in design and effects etc and then undermine the story with cheesy jokes? It kills any sense of tension or dread.

Though I have to admit the Barry Manilow scene had me laughing in tears.

I prefer these type of movies played straight with the humour more organic to the moment. Reminds of the Men In Black movies. I can enjoy and like movies of this ilk but they’ll nae make a regular tipple with me.

And HB2 further reinforces how much more I enjoy del Toro’s non-Hollywood films like The Devil’s Backbone and the classic – Pan’s Labyrinth.

Leave a Reply

