The Engine of Recall – Karl Schroeder

I finished Karl’s collection of short stories, The Engine of Recall. I meet Karl at the Word on the Street festival at Queen’s Park in Toronto last month. He was great to talk to and was very enthusiastic about writing and talking about ideas in general.

Really enjoyed it; Dragon, Solitaire, Making Ghosts, and Allegiances were the stands out for me. The collection really highlights Karl’s ability to write a diverse spectrum of material. The amount of material set in Europe was a surprise.

I still have two other books to read, Ventus and Lady Of Mazes, and will get them to shortly. Hisnew book Sun of Suns has a great premise ie pirates in an artificial world with no gravity and is on my TBR list.

Work on the short story has restarted. I still have the basic idea but the setting I was using required a lot of background detail and would have pushed it into novel length. I am going to rework it to take place in contemporary times to keep the length down.

Leave a comment