Word on the Street Festival

Yesterday, Sunday Sept 24th, was my first time out to Word On the Street festival. It was held at Queen’s Park in downtown Toronto. Took my 6 year old son with me and he had a blast. We caught the subway from Fairview Mall. It was Tim’s first time on the subway which he treated like an amusement ride.

While there I managed to hit the SFWA booth. There I talked briefly to Terence M. Green and picked up his book Sailing Through Time. A longer discussion with Karl Schroeder took place and I picked up a few of his books as well. Karl had a copy of his new book – Sun of Suns, I believe the title was, and its a SF version of a pirate story that takes place in a world with no gravity. He was very enthused about it and has signed a three book deal, with a fourth possibly in the wings. Great to experience the infectious passion of a writer first hand.

We managed to do all of this before the rain kicked in.

4 Responses to “Word on the Street Festival”

  1. steve_vernon Says:

    I had a blast at Word On The Street in Halifax, as well.

  2. olddarth Says:

    Excellent Steve. I read your post and would have love to have been there.
    Are you planning to do a reading at the WHC next year in TO?
    You MUST!

  3. lonesome_crow Says:

    I had to work this year, so missed it. We generally go every year, though. Glad you had a good time.


Leave a Reply

