Silk by Caitlin R. Kiernan

Back when I met Bev Vincent he was praising a book he was reading – Murder of Angels by Caitlin R. Kiernan. I took a chance and bought the prequel Silk. It is a very accomplished first novel.

Kiernan has a mix of Lovecraftian and urban punk style writing that leaves me very impressed. She peoples it with characters living life styles that I am not familiar with at all and made me emphatize with them. A neat trick when you can take a square boy like myself, cut from Riche Cunningham/John Boy Walton sensibilities, and make him feel comfortable with the whole goth, grunge, urban and alternate life styles of the book.

The horror elements are introduced subtly and are a dramatically interesting mix of power and fragility. I look forward to reading MOA.

Thanks for the tip, Bev!

One Response to “Silk by Caitlin R. Kiernan”

  1. bev_vincent Says:

    Silk
    I still haven’t gotten around to reading Silk, a situation I must correct before going to World Horror in April, where CRK will be in attendance.


Leave a Reply

